SIBOL is the Philippine National esports team at SEA Games 2019


    - Advertisement -

    Last year, the Philippine SEA Games Organizing Committee (PhilSGOC) announced that esports will be a medal sport at the SEA Games 2019. Now, with the SEA Games 2019 just a few months away, the official PH National Team — “SIBOL” has been announced!

    Sibol will officially represent the Philippines across the six esports tournaments at this year’s SEA Games. The team’s name is the Filipino word for “growth,” a fitting name as the team signifies the rise of esports, both in the Philippines and on the world stage. As for the official logo, Sibol’s logo is an amalgam of a leaf and flame — representing new beginnings and the passion of Pinoy gamers respectively.

    For the team’s roster, Sibol will be made up of seven players each for team games (Dota 2, Mobile Legends: Bang Bang, Arena of Valor), and two representatives for the individual games (Tekken 7, Hearthstone, StarCraft II). To determine Sibol’s final roster, the Philippine Southeast Asian Games Esports Union (PSEU) will hold an open qualifier this August where any Filipino citizen over the age of 13 can join.

    - Advertisement -

    The winners of the open qualifier will then move on to the training pool. There, the winners will be evaluated based on their mastery of their respective esport title as well as their compatibility with the rest of the team, among other factors. Though of course, the open qualifier winners will be joined by some of the best esports players in the country at the training pool, including:

    - Advertisement -

    Dota 2

    • Carlo “Kuku” Palad
    • Timothy John “Tims” Randrup
    • Kim “Gabbi” Santos
    • Armel “Armel” Tabios
    • Nico “Eyyou” Barcelon
    • Djardel “DJ” Mampusti
    • Marc Polo Luis “Raven” Fausto
    • Abed Azel “Abed” Yusop
    • Michael “ninjaboogie” Ross Jr.
    • Ryan Jay “Bimbo” Qui

    StarCraft II

    • Caviar “Enderr” Acampado
    - Advertisement -

    Arena of Valor

    • Kevin Kio “Gambit” Dizon
    • Jeremiah “1717” Camarillo
    • Jevan Lorenzo “Bents” Delos Santos
    • Lawrence Anthony “Rubixx” Gatmaitan
    • Miguel Klarenz “Miggie” Banaag

    Mobile Legends: Bang Bang

    • Carlito “Ribo” Ribo
    • Erwin “Yakou” Magno
    • Jeniel “Haze” Bata-Anon
    • Marc Danielle “Dee” San Luis
    • Yuji “Yuji” Aizawa
    • Angelo Kyle “Pheww” Arcangel
    • Renz Carlo “Pein” Reyes
    • Lester “Tets” Santos
    • Ralph Mico “Coco” Sampang
    • Mark “Dysania” Cruz
    • Ephraim Jueinno “Ejhay” Sambrano
    • Gerardo “Eson” Mark Jayson
    • Jeff Franklin “Jeffqt4ever” Anaya
    • Allan Sancio “Lusty” Castromayor
    • Jason Rafael “Jay” Torculas
    • Ashleymarco “Killuash” Cruz
    • Kyle “Ryo” Berceño

    Tekken 7

    • Andreij Hosea “Doujin” Albar
    • Alexandre Gabrielle “AK” Laverez


    • Jacinta “Jia” Dee
    • Euneil “Staz” Javiñas

    More info on the open qualifier will be announced soon.

    The 30th SEA Games is happening in the Philippines from November 30 – December 11, 2019, and will include the eleven Southeast Asian countries. The esports competition is scheduled from December 5-10, 2019 at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan, Metro Manila.

    - Advertisement -
    Nicolo Manaloto
    Nicolo Manaloto
    UnGeek's resident editor who is obsessed with anything and everything Death Stranding. He is also a big fan of the Yakuza series, and is a weaboo in denial.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    - Advertisement -