Humankind Cultures of Oceania DLC is now available

Get your sea legs ready with the new DLC expansion for Humanity

The historical turn-based strategy game, Humankind is expanding to the seas with the Cultures of Oceania DLC pack. As a special promo, those who purchase now until September 22, 2023, can avail of a 10% discount on both Epic Games and Steam.

The gameplay of Humankind is all about developing your own people from humble beginnings in the Ancient age, all the way to the Modern era. One of the best parts about it is that you can combine different cultures as you see fit. With the Cultures of Oceania DLC, you can now choose through 86 of them.

What’s included in Cultures of Oceania? 

Cultures of Oceania

The Oceania Cultures expansion brings forth an array of content, featuring six new cultures, six wonders, seven independent peoples, fifteen narrative events, and an all-new soundtrack. This release coincides with the Bonny Update, and as a bonus, it introduces the Caribbean Pirates culture, available to all players at no additional cost.

New Cultures

  • Era 1 – Pama-Nyungan (Aesthete)
    • The Pama-Nyungan era, spanning from the mid-Holocene era onwards, was characterized by the widespread use of Pama-Nyungan languages across most of Australia. As these speakers settled in various regions, they not only brought their languages and social structures but also introduced new cultural and artistic practices to the lands they called home.
  • Era 2 – Polynesians (Expansionist)
    • The Polynesians, emerging in the final centuries of the first millennium BCE, laid the cultural foundation in the triangle formed by Tonga, Samoa, and Uvea. With innovative navigation techniques, they embarked on a Pacific conquest, exploring vast stretches of ocean and expanding their influence across the islands.
  • Era 3 – Rapa Nui (Builder)
    • The Rapa Nui era began when they colonized Easter Island around the 1100s. Despite the island’s isolation and challenging conditions, they thrived by harnessing the land’s mineral resources. Their legacy includes the iconic monumental statues and ceremonial structures that adorn the island’s landscape.
  • Era 4 – Māori (Militarist)
    • The Māori era saw their settlements primarily on Te Ika-a-Māui, the North Island of New Zealand. Here, they established a complex society organized into clans and extended families, marked by bonds of solidarity that endured through conflicts and wars.
  • Era 5 – Hawaiians (Agrarian)
    • Beginning in the late 1700s, Hawaiian society underwent significant transformations. Political unification and increased interactions with foreign cultures reshaped their hierarchical systems. Yet, Hawaiians continued to be stewards of both land and sea, sustaining their way of life.
  • Era 6 – New Zealanders (Scientist)
    • The New Zealanders of the 1940s and 1950s initiated a departure from British imperial influence. Over the subsequent decades, the nation expanded upon the social model inherited from the Seddon and Savage governments. Simultaneously, investments in technology aimed to secure energy independence played a crucial role in shaping their future.

New Wonders

  • Uluṟu
  • Aitutaki Lagoon
  • Bungle Bungle Range
  • Whakaari Volcano
  • The Royal Palace of Papeʻete
  • Mauna Kea Observatory

Major updates and free content

Significant changes are coming to Humanity such as refinements in naval gameplay, trading, and resource management. This includes a lot of rebalancing that is hoping to increase the pace and streamline the experience a bit further. You can check out the specific details through this link

Looking for another reason to dig your hooks into Humanity? The Caribbean Pirates Free Culture is available for everyone at no additional charge! This includes Era 4 (Militarist) which lets you play as Caribbean Pirates.